Details of NEW Pink Floyd Album Have Been OFFICIALLY Announced!



Rumors have been flying around for the past few months, as some details had “accidentally” been released earlier this summer. But today, the legendary psychedelic/classic rock band Pink Floyd has announced that their new album The Endless River will be available for pre-order.




Presumably named after a line from “High Hopes,” one of the singles from the band’s most recent studio album The Division Bell, this new album represents the first new material from the band in over twenty years (that last album having been released in the spring of ’94, way back when this author was in high school).

In a press release (which was quoted by Rolling Stone), the band revealed that The Endless River will be an instrumental double LP, although one of the songs, “Louder Than Words” is said to include lyrics by guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour‘s wife Polly Samson — who wrote or co-wrote lyrics for many of the songs on The Division Bell.

Also according to the Rolling Stone article, this album was constructed by Gilmour and drummer Nick Mason partially from material which had been recorded with late keyboardist/vocalist Richard Wright. “We listened to over 20 hours of the three of us playing together and selected the music we wanted to work on for the new album,” the music magazine quotes Gilmour as stating. “Over the last year we’ve added new parts, re-recorded others and generally harnessed studio technology to make a 21st century Pink Floyd album. With Rick gone, and with him the chance of ever doing it again, it feels right that these revisited and reworked tracks should be made available as part of our repertoire.”

RS goes on to quote Mason: “The Endless River is a tribute to Rick. I think this record is a good way of recognizing a lot of what he does and how his playing was at the heart of the Pink Floyd sound. Listening back to the sessions, it really brought home to me what a special player he was.”


The Endless River track listing:

1. “Things Left Unsaid”
2. “It’s What We Do”
3. “Ebb and Flow”

1. “Sum”
2. “Skins”
3. “Unsung”
4. “Anisina”

1. “The Lost Art of Conversation”
2. “On Noodle Street
3. “Night Light”
4. “Allons-y (1)”
5. “Autumn ’68”
6. “Allons-y (2)”
7. “Talkin’ Hawkin'”

1. “Calling”
2. “Eyes To Pearls”
3. “Surfacing”
4. “Louder Than Words”


The new album is due out on the 10th of November. Further details — including audio samples and pre-order options — can be found at the band’s official website here.

* * * * * * *


One response to “Details of NEW Pink Floyd Album Have Been OFFICIALLY Announced!

  1. Pingback: Metal Memories: The Time I Discovered Faith No More and My Life Was Forever Altered | Valley of Steel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.